Modi has time to announce 1 billion dollars for Russia, no to time to visit flood-hit areas – Sorake

Modi has time to announce 1 billion dollars for Russia, no to time to visit flood-hit areas – Sorake

Udupi: “It is an insult to the people of the state. The PM has time to travel abroad and announce 1 billion dollar credit for Russia’s Far East, but has no time to visit flood-hit areas in the state,” said Vinay Kumar Sorake former minister of Karnataka.

He was speaking at a protest meeting held at the War Memorial on Thursday, September 12, against the NDA and State Government for not Compensating the Flood Victims.

“The whole state has experienced devastation during the floods. Landslides have affected several villagers. Over 1 lakh people have come on the streets. The Centre has failed to release grants for relief work. “Modi just wants votes from Karnataka. He has no concern for the people of the state. When Karnataka was affected by floods in 2009, the then PM Manmohan Singh released Rs 1,600 crore. Modi should follow him,” Sorake.

“The Prime Minister should have reviewed the situation by doing an aerial survey and announce financial assistance to the State”. The ruling BJP leaders in the State also failed to brief the Prime Minister on the heavy damage to the State in the recent floods and rains. The State BJP leaders including Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa have no courage to speak to the Prime Minister on the flood situation in the State, he said.

The BJP-led NDA government has “unilaterally” imposed huge fines without consulting the state governments. Instead of implementing the existing motor vehicles rules effectively, the government was “penalizing” people imposing hefty fines, which cannot be accepted. “Gujarath have already announced that they will reduce the fine charges in their state but in Karnataka chief minister Yediyurappa is only holding meetings”, he said.

Former MLA U R Sabhapathi, District Congress president Ashok Kumar Kodavoor, Vice President Prakyath Shetty, Youth Congress president Vishwas Ameen, women congress president Geetha Wagle, Congress leaders Veronica Cornelio, Roshni Oliver, Dr Sunitha Shetty, Prasanth Jattanna, Sunil Bangera, Janardhan Bhandarkar and others were present.