Nishikori, Ferrer to take part in 2016 Mexico Open

Spread the love

Acapulco (Mexico), Sep 12 (IANS) World No.4 tennis player Kei Nishikori, No.7 David Ferrer, NO.9 Marin Cilic and No.10 Milos Raonic will take part in the 2016 Mexico Open to be held here from February 22 to 27, 2016.

Tournament director Raul Zurutuza on Friday said: “This is a good beginning. They are all good players. People are demanding Raonic very much and we will also have Nishikori, Cilic and Dimitrov, who are having a great moment”, reports Xinhua.

Zurutuza added that “the key to have these players is that the tournament has changed the court’s surface”.

Also, No.17 Grigor Dimitrov will take part in the tournament.

Nishikori, who lost in the US Open first round, will try to win the title, which he lost last year. He was one of the favourites.

Ferrer, the current champion, will seek his fifth title here. He won in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Cilic and Raonic will debut here while this will be Dimitrov’s third participation. He won in 2014.

Spread the love