Panambur Beach all set for Natl Pro-Kabaddi Tourney

Spread the love

Panambur Beach all set for Natl Pro-Kabaddi Tourney

Kabaddi…Kabaddi…Kabaddi! Panambur Beach All Set for National Level Pro-Kabaddi Tournament

Mangaluru: Right on the Panambur Beach front, with the cool breeze blowing and the sounds of rough water waves hitting the shore, a Press Meet was held to brief about the forthcoming Pro-Kabaddi National Level Invitation Kabaddi Tournament. Addressing the media persons, Chairman of Karnataka Rajya Amateur Kabaddi Association-Bengaluru, Rakesh Malli said, ” All India Invitation Beach Mat Kabaddi Tournament for Men-April 2016, under the authority of Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India and Karnataka Rajya Amateur Kabaddi Association, organized by DK District Amateur Kabaddi Association (R)-Mangaluru and Jaya Karnataka Dakshina Kannada District will be held from 15 April to 17 April on Panambur Beach front from 4.30 pm till 11 pm”.

image001kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-001 image002kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-002 image003kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-003

“This event launched at expenses of nearly Rs 50 lakhs, will showcase popular pro-Kabaddi champs from all over India, and we are expecting over lakh of spectators to watch the tournament. Rishank Devadiga, Sandeep Narwal and Manpreet Singh from the popular Pro Kabaddi League are likely to participate in this tourney. These three are among 60 national kabaddi players set to take part in the three-day pro kabaddi matches. Nearly 24 teams from different parts of the country will participate in the event. Among the teams scheduled to take part are ONGC Delhi, Air India Mumbai, Central Railways, Dena Bank, Maharashtra State Police, State Bank of Mysore, HAL, and High Tech from Chennai. Local teams such as Alva’s College and Sporting Ullal will also take part” added Malli.

Purushotham Poojary B., secretary of DK Dist. Amateur Kabaddi association said, “The matches, each 45 minutes long, will be played out on two mats provided by the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports. The matches will be played between 4.30 p.m. and 11 p.m. The winning team will be given a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh while the runner-up will get Rs. 1.5 lakh. The two teams that lose the semi-finals will get Rs. 75,000 each. All arrangements according to the norms and regulations of the Kabaddi Board have been followed, and the matches will be under proper supervision. A new pavilion is being laid to accommodate around 20,000 spectators”. Rathan Kumar Shetty-working president, KT Suvarna-Vice President, Udaya Chowta-Organizing secretary, Dr Mohith Suvarna- Treasurer of DK Dist. Amateur Kabaddi Assn. and Srikanth Shetty-President of Jaya Karnataka DK Dist. were also present during the press meet.


image004kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-004 image005kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-005

Speaking to, Yatish Baikampady, chief executive officer of Panambur Beach Development Project said, ” We are all prepared to host this grand pro-Kabaddi national event on the beach. These matches will be held at the place where the kite festival was organised last year, and our lifeguards were active and quite alert to see that no one gets deep into the water. This year since we are expecting a huge crowd for the event, additional lifeguards would be posted along various points on the beach to prevent people from entering the sea while the matches are on. People should follow the safety rules and regulations posted on the beach front.”

For the inaugural ceremony on 15 April 2016 at 6.30pm, state ministers namely B Ramanath Rai, Abhaya Chandra Jain; Oscar Fernandes-General Secretary, AICC, New Delhi; MP Nalin Kumar Kateel; DC AB Ibrahim; Karkala MLA Sunil Kumar; MLA Moideen Bava; MLC Ivan D’Souza; MCC Mayor Harinath and Dr Mohan Alva-Chairman, Alva’s Education Foundation will grace the occasion.

image006kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-006 image007kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-007 image008kabaddi-tourney-pressmeet-20160414-008

On the second day of the tournament Saturday, 16 April, state minister UT Khader; Hanumanthe Gowda- president, Karnataka Rajya Amateur Kabaddi Assn. Bengaluru; MLC Ganesh Karnik; Bethangady MLA Vasanth Bangera; Puttur MLA Shakuntala Shetty; Srikanth- Secretary, Karnataka Rajya Amateur Kabaddi Assn., Bengaluru; Divya Prabha Gowda- Chairperson, Karnataka State Social Welfare Board; Sadananda Shetty-Chairman, Sri Devi Education Trust; Ravishankar Shetty-Bengaluru; Suresh Chandra Shetty-VP, All India HMS; and Suresh Shetty Gurme, a businessman from Padubidri will grace the event.

The valedictory function on Sunday, 17 April-State ministers Vinaya Kumar Sorake and Dr G Parameshwara; NM Adyanthaya- Ex-All India VP of INTUC; Sanjeeva Reddy-President, All India INTUC; MLA JR Lobo; Sullia MLA Angara; Ex-minister Krishna J Palemar; Manjunath Bhandary-Chairman, Sahyadri Institutions; HN Deepak-state president, Jaya Karnataka; Rajendra Kumar-Chairman, SCDCC Bank, and MCC Corporator-Raghuveer will grace the occasion.

Spread the love