Serra Bangalore holds Annual Scripture Quiz 2019

Serra Bangalore holds Annual Scripture Quiz 2019

Bengaluru: The Serra Club of Bangalore held their 15th Annual Scripture Quiz on Saturday, August 3, 2019, at the Catholic Club, Bangalore.

The Serra President, Jennifer Francis, welcomed the participants and said the Opening Prayer.

This year’s study portion for the Scripture Quiz was The Gospel According to MATTHEW, Letters of PAUL to the ROMANS and The First and Second letter of PAUL to TIMOTHY. (NRSV).

A total number of 60 teams from English medium SSLC and ICSE Catholic Schools participated this year. After a written elimination round, the SSLC and ICSE students were scored separately and each section had their own semi-final and Final Rounds.

With direct answer rounds, single answer questions open to whoever raised their hand first, the single question “play it wise” rounds, and rapid-fire rounds, Bobbin John the Quiz Master kept the 8 teams in the Finals competing enthusiastically.

This year the Scripture Quiz was graced by two Archbishops, Archbishop Dr Peter Machado and Archbishop Emeritus Bernard Moras. Each of them spoke to the participants, urging them to continue to read The Holy Bible.

Archbishop Peter Machado handed out the certificates and gifts to each participant.

The Serra Club of Bangalore comprises of a group of lay Catholics who promote, foster and encourage vocations to the Priesthood and Consecrated Life. The Serrans shared with the participants how this International movement began in America and spread worldwide. Fr. Joy D’Souza and Sr. Jessie gave their testimonies, sharing their experiences of answering God’s call.

Carol Beck compered the programme. The Vote of Thanks was delivered by Evelyn Coutto, which included thanks to the co-sponsors Catholic Club and Asian Trading. She also thanked the schools and parents for encouraging the participants and the teachers who helped and guided them. She acknowledged with Cheers, her fellow Serrans, especially John Rosario, Caroline and team, for tirelessly working to make the Scripture Quiz a success year after year.

The Prize Winners of the 2019 Scripture Quiz are:

SSLC Group:

1st place – Carmel Convent Girls High School.
1. Tanisha Mary, 2. Anne Ephzibah Jyoti and 3. Cynthia D.
2nd place – St. Euphrasia’s Girls High School
3rd place –Sacred Heart Girls High School, J B Nagar

ICSE group:

1st Place–St. Charles High School, Lingarajpuram
1. Adelyn Sarina, 2. Jessa Mariya Joe, and 3. Krithika R.
2ndplace –St. Charles High School, Lingarajapuram
3rd place–Sacred Heart Girls High School.

Ricky Patel, President, Catholic Club, handed over the trophies and prize money to the Winners.