Seven Recipients to receive ‘Sandesha Awards 2018’ on 13 Jan 2018

Spread the love

Seven Recipients to receive ‘Sandesha Awards 2018’ on 13 Jan 2018

Mangaluru: Addressing the media persons during a press meet held at Sandesha Foundation Hall- Bajjodi, Mangaluru, Fr Victor Vijay Lobo – Director, Sandesha foundation said, “Sandesha Foundation, Mangalore has been for the past 27 years honouring the personalities who have made significant contribution to Kannada, Konkani and Tulu Literature, Art and Culture. By choosing to award the deserving persons based on merit, the Sandesha Awards have gained recognition of their own standard. Now we are delighted to announce the 27th Sandesha Awards conferred on seven persons in the field of Literature, Art and Culture. The specific thrust of SANDESHA has been the application of wisdom, values, insights and experience of all faiths to the issues of human dignity, human rights, the environment and total development of the human person”.

Also speaking during the press meet, Na D’Souza – Chairperson – Sandesha Jury said, “The Sandesha Awards jury consisted of Six persons namely myself, Richard Louis, Dr Na Da Shetty, Eric Ozario, Ms Chandrakala Nandavar and Ms Sara Abubakkar. The award consists of Rs 25,000 cash, a trophy, citation, and a certificate. The Awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, 12 January 2018 at Sandesha Foundation open-air ground at 5.30 pm with chief guests namely- Rev Fr Henry D’souza- Bishop of Bellary; Rev Fr Aloysius Paul D’souza- Bishop of Mangaluru; John Michael D’cunha- Judge, High Court-Bengaluru; and Rev Fr Isaac Lobo-Bishop of Udupi. Guests of honor will be -MLA J R Lobo, MLC Ivan D’souza, Na D’souza, Fr Victor Lobo, Fr Victor Crasta– Assistant Director, Sandesha foundation; Roy Castelino- Trustee, Sandesha Foundation; and Fr Ivan Pinto-Sandesha Trustee.”

A delicious cream cake was cut during the press meet to mark the forthcoming of Christmas Feast. Other people present for the Press Conference were Dr Na Da Shetty – Member, Sandesha Jury; Smt Chandrakala Nandavara – Member, Sandesha Jury; Roy Castelino – Trustee, Sandesha Foundation; Titus Noronha – Convener – Publicity committee, Sandesha awards 2018; and Rev. Br Victor Crasta – Assistant Director, Sandesha foundation

Following are Sandesha Awards 2018 Recipients :

Sandesha Kannada Literature Award- Prof. Giraddi Govind Raj

Prof. Giraddy Govind Raj was born in 1939 in Rona, Gadag. He has to his credit three masters- English, Kannada and Linguistics, and a doctorate in stylistics. Known for his impressive oratory, brilliant teaching and penetrating critique, from 1963 to 1999 he has served as a lecturer in Karnataka College, Gulbarga University and Karnataka University.

His contribution in literature include fifteen series of reviews like ‘Sanna Katheya Hosa Olavugalu’, ‘Vilambita’, three collections of poems like ‘Sharada Lahari’, ‘Merlin Monroe’, and three short story collections like ‘Aa Mukha-Ee Mukha’, and fifteen compiled works and other writings.

Sandesha Konkani Literature Award- Edi Netto, Jeppu

Born in Jeppu, Mangalore in 1938, Edwin Marian Netto joined the Indian Air Force as an electrician and then was promoted as a missiles officer. He was in the battlefront during the war against China in 1962, in 1965 war against Pakistan and in 1971 war against Bangladesh. He retired from the military with five military medals and a presidential award.

Since retirement, he has been quite active in the field of Konkani literature. He has to his credit more than two thousand articles, 477 short stories and 27 poems. He has published 7 books including ‘Kudro’ (published by Jeppu Nataka Sangha) and Mannkulem (published by The Sevak).

Sandesha Arts Award- Ashok Gudigar

Born in 1965, Ashik Gudigar lives in K.H, Colony, Bidadi, Bangalore. A skilful artist, thousands of his stone, wooden and sandalwood carvings testify to his sculptural talents. He provides training on creating bronze and fibre models. His works have been exhibited in countries like Russia, USA and England. As a trainer in ‘Kaushalya’, the Canara Bank Artisans Project, he has provided training to thousands of artists. Some of the statues moulded by him range from 2ft. to 78 ft.

Sandesha Media Award- N. Gururaj

Mr. N. Gururaj was born in Asagod, in Jagalur Taluk of Davanagere District. He joined ‘The Udayavani-Kannada Daily’ at Manipal as the sub-editor on the day when the newspaper was started, i.e. 1st January, 1970, and continued to work there for 42 long years till he retired as the editor in 2013. During his tenure ‘The Udayavani’ has acquired several accolades for its news compilation, page design and front page design. The sister publications of the Manipal Press like ‘The Roopathara’ and ‘The Deepavali Visheshanka’ came to light under his care. He has published several short stories and poems under the pseudonym ‘Vishvamitra’. He was a guide and role model to several journalists trained by him.

Sandesha Teacher Award – K. Gadhilingappa

Born in Genikehalu of Bellary district in 1962, K. Gadhilingappa did M.A. and M.Ed. and has served as a teacher in many high schools. He has been working as teacher in Kolagallu Government High Schools from 2013. In addition to his teaching, he has been quite active in several welfare activities such as providing 3-month long free navodaya residential coaching to poor orphans, economic aid to 25 poor orphans till they become self-reliant, free tuition to the physically challenged children in their homes. He worked strenuously to get the pension e has worthe old people deserved. He has arranged sheds on the bank of the Thungabadhra River for girls to change their dress. He has toiled tirelessly to develop educational facilities in the schools in Genikehalu village. With an aim of implementing the various government projects at the grass root level, he provides guidance to teachers.

Sandesha Konkani Music Award- Wilson Olivera

Born in Padukone near Kundapura in 1966, Mr. Wilson Olivera is a leading Konkani singer and a music director today. A deep love for Konkani language, his mother tongue, and the Konkani music transformed him into a renowned Konkani singer and a musician.

He started his music career at the age of 16. Thereafter, he has produced several albums. He has performed successfully in around fifty musical shows in Mangalore, Bangalore, Mumbai, Qatar, Kuwait, Abu Dhabi, Bahrain, the UAE, and other places.

Sandesha Special Recognition Award – Auto Raja

Himself a vagabond, Auto Raja alias T. Raja has dedicated his whole life for the rescue of the abandoned. For the past twenty years he has been reaching out to over ten thousand beggars, mentally distressed, physically and mentally challenged and the orphans in the streets of Bangalore. He is the founder secretary of the ‘New Ark Mission of India’ started in 1997. He has used his auto rickshaw to provide a decent burial to over 4000 beggars in Bangalore city.

Auto Raja provides asylum to 750 orphans in a land provided to the New Ark Mission of India by the India Campus Crusade for Christ in the outskirts of Bangalore. Recently, the government has donated an acre of land to further his benevolent activities. An ambulance which is a must to carry the helpless is the recent gift from an NGO. He dreams to see a day when Bangalore becomes a beggar less city.

For More Details Contact :

Sandesha Foundation
Premnagar, Bajjodi-Mangaluru
Contact No : +91.824.2213278 / +91.824.2225480
Fax No : +91.824.2213278

Spread the love