Udupi: Anna Bhagya scheme has failed to reach people – MP Shobha Karandlaje

Spread the love

Udupi: The Congress government’s ‘Anna Bhagya’ scheme has failed to reach the people. The promises of distributing 30 kg of free rice to the poor has failed, only 4 kg of rice is provided, said Shobha Karandlaje, MP of Udupi-Chikkamagaluru LS constituency. She was speaking after inaugurating the convention on August 18 organised by BJP for the newly elected BJP backed panchayat presidents and vice-presidents.

BJP_gramapanchayathmembersmeetUdupi 18-08-2015 11-31-27 BJP_gramapanchayathmembersmeetUdupi 18-08-2015 11-31-54 BJP_gramapanchayathmembersmeetUdupi 18-08-2015 11-33-00 BJP_gramapanchayathmembersmeetUdupi 18-08-2015 11-33-28 BJP_gramapanchayathmembersmeetUdupi 18-08-2015 11-34-16

Power production has risen in the country but states are facing power crisis. Certain states have no money to buy power while others have distribution problems. The central government, in order to ensure continuous power supply to rural areas, has formulated the Pandit Din Dayal Upadhyay Rural Electrification project. The project facilitates improvement of power distribution to rural areas. The district has been provided a grant of Rs 110 crores in this regard. GP members should interact with MESCOM and the villagers while the survey is being conducted, she said.

The central government, as per the direction of the 14th Finance Commission, will transfer money directly to the panchayats. The district will be receiving Rs 36 crore. The central government has fixed Rs 430 for every individual. Each and every GP will be receiving Rs 25 lakh.

She also said, “The district has also received Rs 10.5 Crore for the construction of 14,500 toilets. 12,000 toilets have already been constructed while 2,500 toilets are yet to be constructed, for which a grant of Rs 1.80 crores has been released. GP members should ensure that every house in the village has a toilet.”

Tingale Vikramarjun Hegde, president of district BJP, presided over the programme. BJP members Uday Kumar Shetty Shymala Kunder, Lalaji R. Mendon, Sheila K. Shetty, Kiran Kodgi, Sadashiv Shetty, Mohan Upadyaya and others were present.

Spread the love