Udupi: ICYM holds ‘Diocese-level Cultural competition ‘Yuva Konkani Fest’

Spread the love

Udupi: On the occasion of the Ruby Jubilee, ICYM Moodubelle in Association with Diocesan ICYM Unit organised ‘Yuva Konkani Fest’ at St Lawrence Church Hall Moodbelle here on Sunday February 8.




The ‘Yuva Konkani Fest’ began with the Eucharistic celebration concelebrated by Fr Reginald Pinto, Director of ‘Sampada’, Udupi Diocese and also assistant director of ICYM Belle along with Fr Joswey Fernandes, parish priest and Spiritual Director of ICYM, Moodueblle Unit, Fr Edwin D’Souza, Director of Yuva Ayog-Diocese of Udupi and Fr P Raj, Principal of St Lawrence English Medium High School, Moodubelle

ICYM members from five deaneries-Udupi, Kallianpur, Shirva, Kundapur and Karkala marched in a procession from the church to the venue. The procession was flagged off by Fr P Raj by beating the chende.

The ‘Yuva Konkani Fest’ was inaugurated in a unique way by Fr Joswey Fernandes pouring a measure of rice into the ‘kalshi’ kept on the ‘muda’ on the stage.

William Pinto Shirthady, an eminent lawyer of the Catholic community, in his speech made an appeal to the youth to take interest and participate in the elections, especially the forthcoming panchayat elections.

After taking the lots for the various competitions, the participants in the competition of fancy dress, poetry and story writing moved to St Lawrence English Medium High School where as the competitors for vovyo, vers and gumta remained in the parish hall.

The judges for these competitions were: Anil Rebello, Irene Rebello, Dolla Mangaluru, Prem Kumar, Stany Fernandes and Norbert Misquith. The skit (fokanna) competition was conducted in the parish hall.

The valedictory function was held in the eveing. Msgr Baptist Menezes, Vicar General of Udupi Diocese presided over the function. Fr Charles Menezes, National Director of YCS/YSM was the chief guest. Fr Joswey Fernandes, Fr Alban D’Souza-Director of ICYM Udupi Deanery, Fr Fredrick D’Souza-Director of Kallianpur Deanery, Leslie Aroza-Animator of Udupi Diocese, Rajendra Shetty-President of Belle Grama Panchayat, Waylon Machado-President of ICYM Udupi Diocese, Vincent Fernandes-Animator of ICYM Unit, Moodubelle, Sr Irene Viegas-Superior of Loreto Convent, Emilia Noronha-Secretary of Parish Pastoral Council, Glen Joy Alva-President of ICYM Unit Moodubelle and others were on the dais.

Fr Joswey Fernandes welcomed the guests. Glen Joy Alva read out the names of past presidents of ICYM Unit of Moodubelle during the last 40 years, those who were present were honoured by Msgr Baptist Menezes.

The Music CD by the youth and for the youth titled ‘Bindas’ was released on this occasion by the Vicar General-Msgr Baptist Menezes. The CD was produced by Nitin Castelino of Shirva. Konkani Musician, Patrick Pereira, lyrist-Santosh D’Souza, Niramarga, Musician-Loy Valentine Saldanha and lead singer-Prajot D’Sa, Kallianpur were present on the stage for the release of the CD.

In his message Msgr Baptist Menezes said that the youth have many talents and they should develop these talents through programmes such as the one organized on the day.

Fr Charles Menezes in his message to the youth pointed out their role in preserving and promoting the Konkani language.

Alwyn Lobo delivered the vote of thanks and Lloyd Rebello compered the valedictory function.

In the category of the exhibition of traditional artefacts used by the Konkani people in their daily lives at home and in their outdoor activities under the theme ‘Know Your Konkani Daiz’ all the five deaneries were given consolation prizes.


Report Writing: Pramitha of Shankarpura (First), Helen of Hirgan (Second) and Linet of Pamboor (Third)
Poetry writing:  Helen of Hirgan (First), Antony Prajwal of Kuntalnagar (Second) and Dreema of Piusnagar (Third).
Story writing:  Ancita of Perampalli (First), Rikitha of Thottam (Second) and Juston of Milagres, Kallianpur (Third).
Skit competition:  Kolalgiri (First), Thottam (Second) and Mundkoor (Third).
Fancy Dress competition: Pamboor (First), Moodubelle (Second) and Mount Rosary, Kallinapur (Third).
In vovyo and vers competition out of 13 teams the top five positions were bagged by Kuntalnagar, Pamboor, Shankarpura, Moodubelle and Sastan ICYM Units.

Click Here for Photo Album

Spread the love