Mangaluru: DK Set to Vote for ZP and TP Elections

Mangaluru: Election Officer and Joint Director of Horticulture Department, Yogish HR held a press meet regarding the upcoming Zilla Panchayat and Taluk Panchayat elections at the Mini Vidhan Saudha here, on January 28.


Addressing the mediapersons, Yogish HR said that ZP and TP elections will be held in February and 5 Election Officers and 5 Assistant Election Officers are appointed for the elections. Elections will be held in 10 ZP and 39 TP in Dakshina Kannada. A total of 3,07,402 voters will vote in 342 polling booths across the district. Applications to feature in the electoral roll will be accepted till January 30 and the final list of voters will be ready by February 1. 39 sector officers and 3 flying squads are appointed to ensure smooth functioning of the election.


Basavraj H and IAS officer, SB Bomanalli are appointed as observers for the elections. Mustering, de-mustering and counting of the votes will be done at Mahatma Gandhi Centenary High School, Bondel. Training to the polling officers will be given at Rosario College.

MK Prameela has been appointed as the Election Nodal Officer. A control room is also established at the Taluk office, which can be used by the public day and night to register complaints or seek information regarding the elections. The control room can be reached at phone number 2220587.


The ZP and TP elections in Dakshina Kannada will be held in the second phase. Election notification will be issued on February 1. Nominations for the elections can be submitted till February 8 and the nominations will be verified on February 9. The last day to withdraw the nomination is February 11. Election will be held on February 20 and if needed, will be continued on February 22. Votes will be counted on February 23.


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here