Off-spinner Ashwin receives Arjuna Award

New Delhi, July 31 (IANS) Sports minister Sarbananda Sonowal presented Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin the Arjuna Award for 2014 here on Friday.

Ashwin, 28, could not be present during the award ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan on August 29 last year as he was in England playing in an One-Day International (ODI) series.

The Tamil Nadu cricketer has 139 wickets in 99 ODIs and 124 wickets from 25 Tests. He also has 1009 runs in Tests and 657 runs in ODIs.

The others who received the award in 2014 are Abhishek Verma (Archery), Tintu Luka (Athletics), H.N. Girisha (Para-Athletics), V. Diju (Badminton), Geetu Anna Jose (Basketball), Jai Bhagwan (Boxing), Anirban Lahiri (Golf), Mamta Pujari (Kabaddi), Saji Thomas (Rowing), Heena Sidhu (Shooting), Anaka Alankamony (Squash), Tom Joseph (Volleyball), Renu Bala Chanu (Weightlifting), Sunil Kumar Rana (Wrestling).

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here