All You Need to Know About ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020

Spread the love

All You Need to Know About ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020

The Cricket World Cup tournament that left many fans in awe is finally over. England and New Zealand faced off against each other in the finals, where England managed to emerge the winner and went home with the Golden Cup.

Now cricket fans are eagerly awaiting the 2020 ICC T20 World Cup tournament. The schedule for the tournament is already out.

The host for both the women’s and men’s T20 World Cup events will be Australia. In fact, it will be the 1st time that the two events will be conducted in Australia separately.

Earlier, Windies won the 6th edition after a brilliant performance from Carlos Brathwaite that saw the Caribbean win against England in Kolkata, 2016.

In addition, the Caribbean walked away with the reigning champion title.

The men’s tournament is scheduled to start on 18th October through to 15th November when the finals are expected. The women’s tournament, on the other hand, is expected to start six and a half months before the men’s T20 World Cup.

To be precise, the women’s tournament will begin on 21st February, with the finals expected to take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

A total of twelve teams are expected to participate in the much-awaited event. Australia being the host will have a direct qualification, while seven other teams become eligible for the Super 12 competition based on their performance

Tickets for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The organizers of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 have already announced the ticket prices. They are mainly aiming to have a massive year for cricket and so are focusing more on families and communities.

Tickets are going for $5 for children and starting at $20 for adults for all matches at the stadium.

For those looking for betting opportunities at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, websites such as ComeOn can be a perfect place to check. A week-long festival including nine best cricket teams and 6 matches under the super 12 stage will happen in the opening week at the stadium.

However, before the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020, fans are looking forward to the Men’s T20. World Cup 2020.

Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier

Starting on 18th October 2019, cricket lovers will start enjoying the Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifying match. A total of 14 teams are battling out for a chance to participate in the World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

Why Hold the Qualifier Event?

Teams taking part in the Men’s T20 World Cup qualifier will be competing for the six places at the T20 World Cup Championship. The six qualifiers will be facing Sri Lanka and Bangladesh during the 1st round of the World Cup that will be played in two groups.

The top two teams in each group will join Australia, India, South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, and West Indies in the super 12 stages.

The Teams at the Qualifier

Fourteen teams will be taking part in the Qualifying tournament. Group A will consist of Scotland, Papua New Guinea, the Netherlands, Namibia, Singapore, Bermuda and Kenya. On the other hand, group B will include UAE, Oman, Ireland, Hong Kong, Jersey, Canada and Nigeria.

According to the MRF Tires ICC T20I Rankings, Scotland are ranked highest at no.11. UAE follows at no.12, and Ireland at no.14. No. Nepal was number but missed out after being upset during the pathway tournament.

In 2015, the Netherlands and Scotland shared the trophy because the finale was washed out.

Event Venues

The T20 World Cup qualifying match will take place in two United Arab Emirates cities; Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Group A matches will take place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium and two ICC Academy Grounds.

Matches in Group B will be held at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium and Tolerance Oval in Abu Dhabi. The finals will take place at the Dubai International Stadium.

Games Format

The teams at the Men’s T20 ICC World Cup are divided into two groups. Each group consists of seven teams. The leading team in each group will earn a place at the men’s T20 World Cup 2020 as well as a place at the semi-finals qualifying match.

Teams in the 2nd and 3rd place in each group will get a place at the qualifying matches 1 and 2. The play-off game-winners complete in the semifinals and seal the World Cup qualifiers.

Play-offs 1 and 2 losers ranked 4th in the qualifying play-offs 3 and 4 in the group stage. The winners will claim two championship spots before battling out for the 5th place in the finals.

Spread the love