Mangaluru: Final Session of Fed Cup – Poovamma Wins Gold in Women’s 400m Run

Spread the love

Mangaluru: The final session of the 19th Federation Cup National Senior Athletics Championship began with the Men’s 110m Hurdles here at the Mangala Stadium on May 4.

Siddanth Thingalaya from the ONGC team won the gold medal in the Men’s 110m Hurdles managing 13.92 on the clock. He is also the record holder for this event both at the national and meet levels, with a timing of 13.92s made in the year 2012. The silver medal was won by Surendhar form Tamil Nadu with a time of 14.17s and the bronze was won by K Prem Kumar from Telangana with a time of 14.26s.


In the Men’s Triple Jump, team ONGC’s Arpinder Singh won the gold medal with a mark of 16.13m. S N Mohammed from TATA Motors won silver with 15.86m and U Karthik from the Air Force won the bronze (15.82m).

The 4×400 Relay men’s category witnessed a tough competition between the Army and Air Force teams. Team Army won the relay with a timing of 3:11.48, coming close to the previous meet record, also held by the Army (3:11.44/2014). The Air Force, with a time of 3:11.99, won the silver medal followed by Haryana with 3:16.06. In the women’s category, team West Bengal emerged as the winner (3:46.08), Tamil Nadu claimed the silver (3:47.84) and Kerala settled for bronze (4:02.35).













In the 1500m Run event, Men’s category, Jinson Johnson and Sandeep Kumar from team Army won the gold and silver medals with 3:46.98 and 3:47.71 respectively. Ajay KR Saroj of Assam won the bronze with 3:48.86. In the Women’s category, there was a close competition for the first place between Sushma Devi from Haryana and Chitra P U from Kerala. Devi won the gold with a time of 4:27.50, followed very closely by Chitra, who bagged silver with 4:27.94. Sipra Sarkar from West Bengal won bronze with a time of 4:28.62.

Team Karnataka finished the 4x100m Relay in the women’s category clocking 47.20s to secure the gold medal. Tamil Nadu came second (47.65s) and Maharashtra finished third to bag the bronze. In the men’s category, the Army team came first with a time of 41.08s, followed by Tamil Nadu (41.18s) and Karnataka (41.40s).

The gold and silver medals for the Women’s 100m Hurdles event were won by team Tamil Nadu’s Gayathry and Deepika respectively. They finished the race in 13.67 and 13.76 seconds respectively. Meghana Shetty from team Karnataka won the bronze with a time of 13.88s.

20150503_4dd (1)

20150503_4dd (2)

20150503_4dd (3)

20150503_4D_bb (1)

20150503_4D_bb (2)

20150503_4D_bb (3)

20150503_4dd (4)




20150504_4D_2ce (1)

20150504_4D_2ce (2)

2015_4D_3a (1)

2015_4D_3a (12)

2015_4D_3a (17)

With a time of 46.24s, Arokya Rajeev from the Army team won the gold medal in the 400m Run (Men’s), followed closely V Sajin from the Air Force team with a time of 46.94s and A Dharun (TN) with 47.25s. In the Women’s category, M R Poovamma representing ONGC won the gold medal by completing the run in 53.41s. The silver and bronze medals were bagged by team Kerala’s Anu R (54.27) and Tintu Luka (54.31). Speaking to after winning the run, Poovamma said, “My main aim is to get a medal in the Olympics. I have been competing with Tintu Luka since 2011, and she has been a good competition for me; I have improved by competing with her. The climate here very humid, I could not warm-up properly. Since the morning, Mangalorean fans have been waiting to see me perform. I ran for them.”

Dharmbir from Haryana completed the 200m run in 20.87s to win the gold medal, M Manikanda from Tamil Nadu won silver (21.20) and Parveen Kumar from Haryana won bronze (21.59). In the Women’s category, team Odisha’s Srabani Nanda and Dutee Chand bagged the gold and silver medals clocking 23.67s and 24.52s respectively. Team Karnataka’s M G Padmini won the bronze medal (24.69s). The national record for this event belongs to Saraswati Saha Ludhiana (22.82/Aug 2002) while the meet record belongs to P T Usha (23.30/July 1998).

The best athlete award in the 19th Federation Cup in the Men’s category was given to Inderjeet Singh of team Haryana for his powerful performance in the shot put event. He has competed at the 2013 Summer Universiade and won a silver medal with a throw of 19.70m, which was his personal best at that time. He broke his own personal best during this meet with a throw of 20.65m, the earlier being 20.14m at the National Games held in Kerala. Srabani Nanda from Odisha was awarded in the Women’s category for the agility that she displayed in the 100m event. She has represented India at many national and international events, achieving multiple medals.

Also Read:

Spread the love