Mangaluru: MLC Election Counting Begins at Ladyhill – Kota Srinivas Poojary & Prathapchandra Shetty Win

Spread the love

Mangaluru: The counting of the biennial elections to Karnataka Legislative Council from DK local authorities constituency was held at Victoria Girls Pre-University College at Ladyhill here on December 30.


In the first round of the counting Kota Srinivas won the MLC elections with 2977 votes. When the counting was completed there were 6534 votes out of which 231 votes were rejected.

Speaking to the mediapersons Election officer A B Ibrahim said that on December 27, the MLC elections were held. Eight candidates from various party’s contested in the elections and 6534 votes were cast. Of the total votes, 231 votes were rejected. After the counting process was completed the results were declared.


Kota Srinivas Poojary and Pratapchandra Shetty won the elections with 2977 and 2237 votes respectively. Number of votes received by other contestants are as follows:

Prakash Shetty – 06
Praveenchandra Jain – 30
Alphons Franco – 51
Ismail Doddamane – 01
K Jayaprakash Hegde – 872
K Harikrishna Bantwal – 127

We have handed over the results to the Election commissioner and have announced the winners.

Speaking to, Kota Srinivas Poojary said, “I had expected this result and it is because of the collective effort of the Bhartiya Janata Party workers.”


Speaking to the mediapersons, Minister for Environment, Ecology and Forests, B Ramanath Rai said, “Rebels stood against the party and claimed they would win the election. This however has proven wrong. This is actually a victory for Congress party as our candidate Prathapchandra Shetty secured 2237 votes even when two rebels candidates from within the party had contested. BJP had fielded just one candidate but he did not manage to secure many votes and is in par with the congress candidate.”


When asked by if there was any confusion within the Congress party, Ramanth Rai said, “There is absolutely no confusion within the party. If you look at the votes, you can see that our candidate has got 2237 votes. Keeping in mind the upcoming Taluk and Zilla Panchayat elections I am sure the party is headed in the right direction,” he added.

Click here for Photo Album

Spread the love