Mangaluru/Udupi: S Murugan new Police commissioner of DK and K Annamalai SP of Udupi

Spread the love

Mangaluru/Udupi: Tamilnadu Origin IPS officer S Murugan will be the next police commissioner of Dakhsina Kannada district commissionerate.

The commissioner of police R Hitendra has been transferred to Begaluru. Murugan will be taking charge as the new commissioner of Police.


IPS officer S Murugan, a native of Tamil Nadu will take charge as the police commissioner.  The official transfer order was received on December 31. Murugan is a 1997 batch IPS officer, he has won the President’s medal for his achievements.

S Murugan was serving as Inspector General and commander of ANF in Bengaluru. Before serving as IG he had served as SP and Deputy Inspector General in the CID department in Bengaluru.

Santosh Babu IPS will take charge as the new deputy commissioner police Law and Order, replacing Dr K V Jagadish.

In Udupi District, Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP), Karkala K Annamalai has been posted as the new Superintendent of Police for Udupi district.


Annamalai who hails from Coimbatore is a Mechanical Engineer (2007 batch) from PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore. He did his MBA (IIM Lucknow, 2010 batch) with specialization in Marketing and Strategy. He joined the Indian Police Service (IPS) in the year 2011. He took over as Assistant Superintendent of Police, Karkala, in September 2013.

The outgoing Superintendent of Police Rajendra Prasad has been appointed as the Superintendent of Police, Intelligence, Bengaluru.

Spread the love