National Pathology CME on ‘Salivary Gland Tumors-An Update’ held at FMMC

National Pathology CME on ‘Salivary Gland Tumors-An Update’ held at FMMC

Mangaluru: The Department of Pathology of Father Muller Medical College in collaboration with SK unit of KCIAPM organized a Continuous Medical Education (CME) with the emphasis on ‘Salivary Gland Tumors-An Update’ on 13 October 2018 at the Decennial Memorial Hall. A total of 150 participants including residents and consultants of the Department of Pathology, Oncology, General Surgery, ENT, Oral Pathology and Dental Surgery from Karnataka and neighbouring states were the beneficiaries of this programme. Eminent speakers in the field of Onco pathology had attended to deliver their feast of knowledge to all the delegates.

Salivary gland tumours though rare can pose diagnostic challenges due to their diverse histopathology and varied clinical presentations. With the new WHO classification and Milan system of reporting, the CME helps to discover the latest trends and dilemma in reporting and diagnosis of various salivary gland lesions.

The inaugural programme commenced with an invocation followed by lamp lighting by the esteemed dignitaries.

Dr Hilda Fernandes, Co-Chairperson and Professor, Dept of Pathology, FMMC, introduced the chief guest and welcomed the gathering.

Rev Fr Ajit B. Menezes, Administrator, FMMC, presided over the programme and appreciated the initiative taken by the department in organizing the CME.

Chief Guest, Dr S V Kane, Professor, Dept of Pathology, Tata Memorial Centre congratulated the committee for holding the CME with a theme which is seldom discussed in the present scenario. Further, she also expressed the need for conducting regular CME’s with topics that are rarely discussed but commonly have an issue, which would be of incredible help to the learners.

Dr Padmaja Udaykumar, Vice-dean, Dr Jayaprakash CS, Chairperson of CME, president of KCIAPM and Head of Pathology department were present on the occasion.

Dr Loretta and Dr Malvina, Dept of Pathology, compered the programme. Dr Nisha J Marla, Organising secretary, Associate Professor, Dept of Pathology, rendered the vote of thanks. The program concluded by singing the institutional anthem.