New Zealand announce Test squad against Australia

Spread the love

Wellington, Sep 11 (IANS) New Zealand on Friday announced their 15-member squad for the three-Test cricket series against Australia, beginning in Brisbane on November 5.

The Black Caps will play one practice match, a day-night fixture against a Prime Minister’s XI in Canberra on October 23, reports

Captain Brendon McCullum was upbeat about his side’s prospects, despite their only Test series triumph in Australia coming 30 summers ago, when Sir Richard Hadlee cut a swathe through the hosts’ batting line-up with 33 wickets in three matches.

“It’s going to be a really tough series. I’ve said all the way along Australia, in their own conditions, are a formidable side regardless of how much experience or inexperience they possess,” McCullum said on Thursday after he was recognised for services to cricket with a New Zealand Order of Merit.

“We’re respectful of how tough a challenge it will be but at the same time I think we’ve got a team that has performed over a period of time. I’d rather have our team than theirs.”

All-rounders Corey Anderson and Jimmy Neesham have both been included, with head coach Mike Hesson keen to have flexibility when picking a fifth bowling option in the starting XI.

New Zealand squad for tour of Australia: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Mark Craig, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, B.J. Watling, Kane Williamson.

Spread the love