Puttur: Intercollegiate Physics Fest ‘Phoenix 2015’ held at SPC

Spread the love

Puttur: The PG Department of Physics of St Philomena College organized ‘Phoenix 2015, The Immortality of Knowledge’, an intercollegiate physics fest, on 13th February at the Silver Jubilee Memorial Hall, St Philomena College, Puttur.




The guest of honour, Fr Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro (Chairman, Centre for PG Studies, St Philomena College) said, “The success of a college depends on the students who crave for knowledge and a committed band of teachers. In order to be a fine human being, it is not only the expertise in a particular subject that matter but also social concern, communication skills and community oriented behavior which play a major role.” He concluded by saying that this fest should not only be a platform for the students to exhibit their talent in physics, but also help them in transforming into good human beings.

The chief guest of the function, Prof. Leo Noronha (Principal of SPC), in his presidential address said, “The name of the fest ‘Phoenix’ represents a mythical bird. A bird is always on the move by instinct. The same can be said about knowledge; it is nothing but a quality in our mind, the quality of knowing things. Quality is something that keeps running and we need to run along with it in order to achieve it.”

He further said, “A child has no knowledge but learns only out of curiosity. A science student should have the same kind of curiosity which will lead them to inventions and a new horizon of wisdom.”

Dr A P Radhakrishna, Head of the Department of Physics (UG), SPC was also a guest of honour. Dr Emmanuel Deepak D’Silva, Co- Convenor and Co-ordinator, PG dept of Physics, was also present. Kalpashree welcomed the gathering. Nisha delivered the vote of thanks. Fathimath Ashida compered the programme.

A variety of competitions were conducted. The highlights of the day were the Quiz, Collage competition, Working Models and Seminar. Many students in and around Puttur enthusiastically participated in the competition. Under the UG programme, the winners of the collage competition were: 1st prize – Sneha V B and Evid, St Aloysius College; 2nd prize – Rashmishree and Ganesh, Mangalore University. The winners of seminar were: 1st – Robin Mathews, Alvas College; 2nd prize – Seema Rao, Canara College. The winners of the working model were: 1st – Aditya Hebbarand Mukesh, Vivekananda College; 2nd – Sushanth and Ragavendra, Poornaprajna College, Udupi. The winners of the Quiz were: 1st prize – Riya Joy and Prajwal D’Souza, St Aloysius College; 2nd prize – Rohan Vedhamani and Ranjith, Poornaprajna College, Udupi. The overall trophy was won by St Aloysius College, Mangalore and the runner up team was Alvas College, Moodabidri.

Under the PG programme, the winners of the collage competition were: 1st prize – Neha A Bhat and Ananya, SDM, Ujjire; 2nd prize – Ganesh and Kevin, Mangalore University. The winners of seminar were: 1st – Shreekanth, Alvas College; 2nd prize – Ranjitha, Mangalore University. The winners of the working model were: 1st – Bharath Chandra and Pratheek, SDM College, Ujjire; 2nd – Mahesh and Shiva Prasad, Alvas College, Moodbidri. The winners of the Quiz were: 1st prize – Niranjan and Mukesh, Mangalore University; 2nd prize – Bhanu Priya K and Rahul S, SDM College, Ujjire. The championship trophy was bagged by SDM College, Ujjire.  The runner up was Mangalore University.

The winners were awarded during the valedictory ceremony.

Spread the love