Udupi-Chikkamagaluru LS Constituency registers 78.02% voter turnout

Udupi-Chikkamagaluru LS Constituency registers 78.02% voter turnout

Udupi: There was a voter turnout of 78.02 % in the Udupi-Chikkamagaluru Lok Sabha Constituency in Udupi district on Thursday, according to the tentative figures provided by the district administration.

According to the Deputy Commissioner, Polling was by and large peaceful. In some places, there were minor glitches in the electronic voting machines (EVMs). In several polling stations, people had to wait for hours due to faulty Electronic Voting Machines (EVM). Voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) units had to be replaced. After the replacement of machines, polling continued. The polling was totally peaceful and no untoward incidents were registered in the district, she said.

Polling, which began at 7:00 a.m gained momentum as the day progressed. There was a big queue at every polling station in the morning. At 9:00 am, the polling percentage was 12.59. At 11 am, Udupi–Chikkamagaluru LS constituency recorded 29%. At 1 pm, the polling percentage was 41%. At 3:00 pm, the constituency recorded 54% and at 5:00 pm 69.24% voting was recorded. At the end of the day, the Udupi–Chikkamagaluru LS constituency recorded 78.02%

Polling in various constituencies is as follows:

Kundapur – 77.61%

Udupi – 78.77%

Kaup – 77.77%

Karkala – 78.19%

Sringeri – 78.86%

Mudigere – 73.86%

Chikkamagaluru- 69.44%

Tarikere – 72.04%

Total – 78.02