After IPL Fever, It’s Time for BPL Fever! Youth Bunts to Host ‘Bunts Premier League’ 24-26 May

After IPL Fever, It’s Time for BPL Fever! Youth Bunts to Host ‘Bunts Premier League’ 24-26 May


After IPL Fever, It’s Time for BPL Fever! Youth Bunts-Mangaluru to Host ‘Bunts Premier League’ from 24-26 May at Sahyadri College Grounds, Adyar-Mangaluru

Mangaluru: The India Premier League epidemic has invaded Kudla, where we are seeing a bunch of organizations/institutions having their own version of Cricket Premier League, like MPL ( Mangalore Premier League), KPL ( Gowd Saraswat Community (Konkani) Premier League); APL (Aloysius Premier League); MPL (Muller Premier League) etc etc- now two young and energetic Bunt Youth have come up with a unique league for the FIRST time to host the “BUNTS PREMIER LEAGUE: SEASON-1” – a ten over each cricket tournament to be played at Sahyadri College Grounds, Adyar, in the outskirts of Mangaluru from 24 May to 26 May, 2019.

The young man behind and organizer of this FIRST season of BPL is Prasad Shetty, a former “Strong Man of India” in the National Power lifting Contest held in the year 2017-18, and currently a promoter/trainer in sports activity- and who is joined by his co-organizer Sachin Raj Rai, who is managing a Monkey Mayhem Fight Club (Muaythai) in the City. Speaking to Team Mangalorean, Prasad Shetty said, ” The prime motive in organizing this event is to bring all the people of Bunts Community together and give them a platform for talents in cricket in Bunts community and make way for them to play in higher levels, and also reach greater heights in cricket field”.

Addressing the media people during a press meet held at Mangaluru Press Club, Suresh Chandra Shetty- a Advisory Committee member of BPL said, “Youth Bunts Mangaluru will be organizing tournament at Sahyadri College ground from 24-26 May. The opening ceremony will be held on 24 May at 5 pm at the Sahyadri Ground, where prominent personalities from the Bunts Community and Cine stars from Bunts Community will grace the occasion. The opening ceremony will be filled with lots of entertainment and cultural events”.

Co-organizer of BPL, Sachin Raj said, “BPL will have eight Franchise teams, namely- “A J Warriors” owned by Prasanth Shetty and Ashish Shetty (Team Mentor- Kishore Shetty and Team Ambassador-Ms Drayva Shetty); “Mijar Yerukulu” owned by Vijayanath Vittal Shetty and Arjun Rai ( Team Mentor-Nehal and Team Ambassador- Ms Ankitha Shetty); “Royal Bunts” owned by Preethi Shetty Rai and Prasad Shetty ( Team Ambassador- Ms Namratha Rai); “Leeds United” owned by Kishore D Shetty and Prashanth Alva ( Team Mentor-Prakash Shetty and Team Ambassador-Ms Niriksha Shetty) ; “Polali Tigers” owned by Jayaraj Shetty and Suraj Shetty ( Team Mentor- Sandeep Bhandary and Team Ambassador- Ms Rithika Shetty); “Tulunad Tigers” owned Cine star Rakshith Shetty and Ajay Shetty ( Team Mentor- Dhanraj Varadhram and Team Ambassador-Ms Smrithi Shetty); “Mangaluru Bulls” owned by Nithin Shetty and Praveen Chandra Alva ( Team Mentor- Nelson and Team Ambassador- Ms Aaradya Shetty) ; and “Kudla Super Kings” owned by Sadanand Shetty ( Team Mentor- Devi Charan Shetty and Team Ambassador- Shreya Shetty)”.

The Advisory Committee members of KPL are- A Sadanand Shetty, A J Shetty, N Raviraj Shetty, Sundar Shetty, Ganesh Shetty, Rajgopal Rai, Sureshchandra Shetty, Chandrahas Shetty, Mahabala Marla and Devi Charan Shetty.

Regarding the format of the League- there will be 8 teams divided into two pools like A and B, and each team will play 3 league matches in their pool, and two team from each pool will qualify for semi Final , followed by Finals, held on 26 May. These matches will be played during day light and also under flood-lit lights, and each match will be of ten overs.

Devi Charan Shetty (Chairman of BPL), Mahabala Marla ( Ex-MCC Mayor and BPL Advisory Committee Member) and Prasad Shetty ( President of BPL) were also present during the press meet.

Click Here to View More Pictures