Bengaluru: RVCE Wins First Runner-up at 19th GACC International Inter-varsity Chess Championship

Spread the love

Bengaluru: RV College of Engineering (Affiliated to VTU), has finished second in the 19th GACC International Inter-Varsity Chess Championship held at The University of Malaya, Malaysia from 26th to 31st January 2015.
GACC Chess Championship is open to under graduates from all over the globe and is held under the co-operation of The Malaysian Chess Federation. This edition witnessed a total of 112 participants from 20 universities like Latvia, Germany, France, Singapore, Sri Lanka along with India.

RVCE was led by Gahan M G, a 6th SEM student along with Antonio Viani D’Cunha, Yashas D, Vanessa D’Souza of 4th Sem and Nagesh R of 6th Sem. Vishwanatha C N was the manager of the team. Details of the individual performance are as follows:

Sl no. Name                       FIDE Rtg                 Points                Rank
1       Gahan MG                    2292                      7                       2
2       Antonio Viani D’Cunha   2264                      6.5                    8
3       Yashas D                      2104                      6.5                    10
4       Nagesh R                     1894                       6                       13
5       Vanessa D’ Souza         1840                       5.5                   32

While Gahan MG finished second in the open category, Vanessa managed to finish 4th among girls. Team scores were calculated by adding the four best individual performances, one of which required to be a girl’s score. RVCE scored 25.5 while NTU University from Singapore scored 26.5 to finish first.

Antonio Viani D’ Cunha and Yashas D were honoured with the Ekalavya Award by the Govt. of Karnataka in 2011 and 2014 respectively. They along with Gahan M G represented India in the World Juniors Chess Championship 2014 held at Pune 5th to 20th October 2014. All the above students have participated in international, national and state level tournaments and secured medals.

Gahan M G, Antonio Viani D’Cunha, Yashas D and Nagesh R have represented VTU consecutively and were winners in South Zone and All India Inter University Competitions.

Spread the love