CRC Chinchinim crowned Champions in IInd Xavierian Boys All-India Football Tournament

Spread the love

CRC Chinchinim crowned Champions in IInd Xavierian Boys All-India Football Tournament

Kuwait: A star-studded CRC Chinchinim were crowned champions of the second edition All India 7-aside Football Tournament organized by Xavierian Boys, Madel, Margao-Goa and held at Bayan grounds in the last week of November 2017.

Chinchinim beat defending champions MAC Kuwait 3-2 in the tie-breaker; 24 exciting teams took part in the one-day tournament.

In the semi-finals, Chinchinim beat Capxem Boys while MAC overcame favorites Soccer Kerala.

Chinchinim comprised of Loyd Mascarenhas, Pattu, Stevan Coriea, Peter, Vishal Kotak, Antonio Fernandes (Goalkeeper and captain), Clinton, Jerry Mello, Carlos and Tiago Fernandes.

Runners-up MAC consisted of Abdul Rahman, Shafeek (captain), Sajesh, Aneesh, Noufal, Ibrahim Kutty, Jamal, Ramees and Lukman.

The matches were officiated by Edward Dias, Victor Andrade, Rafi Islahi, George, Sameer, Arnold, James Rebello, Brazileo Rego and Agnel D’cunha.

Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF) president Derick Gomindes was the chief guest at the event and spoke on the occasion.

Lawry Pinto was the guest of honor. Other dignitaries present on the occasion included Austine Abreo, Sports secretary of KIFF and Lourdina Rodrigues.

Derick Gomindes while congratulating the winners, praised Xavierian Boys for organizing a grand tournament. Apparently, funds raised from the tournament would be donated to charity according to Rafael Rodrigues, chief coordinator of the tournament.

The event was made all the more spectacular with expert commentary by Gasper Crasto; cake was served to all spectators.

In a noteworthy gesture during prize distribution ceremony, Madel Boys honored Manuel Rodrigues, one of the members of the organizers, for his contribution towards Indian football and the Goan community in Kuwait and his undying support towards the tournament.

The organizers Xavierian Boys also had a special artifact memento for Jomana Kamal Hana, a great supporter of charity and the tournament.

The prizes were presented at the hands of Rafael Rodrigues – President of Xavierian Boys, Austin Abreo, Sylvester, James Rebello, Brazileo Rego, Yousuf of Tuskers FC, Manuel Rodrigues, Brazileo Rego, Felix Fernandes and Lourdina Rodrigues, etc.

In the vote of thanks proposed, Lourdina Rodrigues of Xavierian Boys thanked all the participating teams, officials, sponsors and everyone who rendered their help in making the tournament a success.

The tournament was sponsored by Oby Rodrigues, Melwyn D’Silva, Master Fayne Fernandes, Co, Brian Dourado, US Stars, T-Bush Int’l Films, Silvester Pereira, Lawry Pinto, Bosco Leitao, Gasper Crasto, etc.

Special thanks were conveyed to Derick Gomendis, Salvador Dias, James Rebello, Godwin Dourado, Gasper Crasto, Julio Cardoso, Michael Pereira, Philip Vaz, Marcel Fernandes, Austine Abreo, Tiago Fernandes, Nicholas, Joaquim Fernandes, etc.

Gasper Crasto compered the entire tournament assisted by Austine Abreo. Photographs were captured by Julio Cardoso.

Apart from trophies for Winners, Runners-up and semi-final losers, the winners and runners-up were awarded cash prizes and glittering individual trophies.

Following other prizes were awarded at the presentation ceremony:

  • Man of the Match (Final) – Krishna Chandra of MAC
  • Surprize Prize (last touch of the ball) – Stevan Coriea of CRC Chinchinim
  • First Goal Scorer of the Finals – Loyed Mascarenhas of CRC Chinchinim
  • Best Midfielder – Vishal Kotak of CRC Chinchinim
  • Best Defender – Stevan Coriea of CRC Chinchinim
  • Best Goal Keeper of the Tournament – Anthony of CRC Chinchinim
  • Top Scorer of the Tournament – Melwyn of Capxem Boys

Spread the love