NRSS to Gherao DC Office on May 16

Spread the love

Mangaluru: Netravati Rakshana Samyukta Samiti (NRSS), held a press meet at hotel Woodlands here on April 29.

Addressing the mediapersons President of NRSS Vijay Kumar Shetty said that on April 27 all the community leaders had gathered at the Arya Samaj Mandir to discuss the burning issue of Yettinahole Project and we have come to a collective conclusion that on May 19, district Bundh will be observed. Prior to the bundh, on May 6, a meeting of Taluk leaders will be convened to observe a peaceful bundh in respective taluks.

image001Netravati-rakshana-samyukta-samiti-20160429-001 image002Netravati-rakshana-samyukta-samiti-20160429-002

On May 16, thousands of people will gather at the Ambedkar circle and a procession will begin at 3:00pm which will culminate at the DC office. We will gherao the DC office and hand over a memorandum to the Chief minister and the governor through the Deputy commissioner.

Harikrishna Bantwal said, “Whoever is trying to kill the water resources, the water will kill us. Now we are facing severe water crisis and if we will not drop the project in the coming days we will face acute water shortage. There is no sign of the rains and till June 5 rain fall is not expected”. He further said that we have to submit a memorandum to the chief minister so that he will wake up to the problems we are facing.

image003Netravati-rakshana-samyukta-samiti-20160429-003 image004Netravati-rakshana-samyukta-samiti-20160429-004 image005Netravati-rakshana-samyukta-samiti-20160429-005

Satyajit Suratkal said that on April 27, leaders from various communities had gathered to discuss, pressuring the government to drop the Yettinahole project. Priests from Rosario Church Fr J B Crasta and Fr William Menezes, Swamiji from Kemaru Math Esha Vittaladas, Vajradehi Math Swamiji Rajashekarananda, President of Central Muslim Committee Mohammed Masood, Meghanath Shetty Moodbidri, M G Hegde, Sashidhar Kolambe and many other leaders have joined the meeting and decided to strengthen our protest.

S Jayaram Santha, Sashiraj Shetty Kolambe, Haneef Khan Kodaje, Dinakar Shetty, Amir Ahamed Thumbay, Yashodhara Chowta, Rajeev Kanchan and others were also present.

Spread the love