Probables announced for India’s football squad

Spread the love

New Delhi, May 20 (IANS) National football coach Stephen Constantine on Wednesday named a preliminary squad of 38 probables for India’s 2018 World Cup Preliminary Joint Qualification matches against Oman and Guam.

The list would be trimmed to 26 after completion of the I-League. The selected 26 along with the support staff would be reporting to a camp in Bangalore on June 3 with practice kicking-off from June 4.

India play their first match at the Kanteerava Stadium in Bangalore against Oman on June 11 while the next match against Guam will be played away on June 16. India have been clubbed in Group D with Iran, Oman, Turkmenistan and Guam.

“We are on the platform where we wanted to be. We are now competing against the best Teams in Asia and it’s the stage for the best teams to compete against each other. We have selected a group of players that have impressed for their respective clubs in the last 2-3 months,” Constantine said.

The squad of 38 probables:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul (Salgaocar SC), Arindam Bhattacharya (Bharat FC), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Stabaek FC), Sanjiban Ghosh (Mumbai FC).

Defenders: Rino Anto, Lalchhuanmawia (both Bengaluru FC), Reagan Singh, Lalhmangaihsanga (both Royal Wahingdoh FC), Pritam Kotal, Dhanachandra Singh (Mohun Bagan), Robert Lalthlamuana, Arnab Mondal, Gurwinder Singh (all East Bengal), Sandesh Jhingan (Sporting Clube de Goa), Augustin Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Aiborlang Khongjee (Shillong Lajong FC).

Midfielders: Cavin Lobo, Md. Rafique (East Bengal), Eugenson Lyngdoh, C.K. Vineeth (both Bengaluru FC), Godwin Franco, Jackichand Singh, Saityasen Singh (all Royal Wahingdoh FC), Sehnaj Singh (Mohun Bagan), Dhanapal Ganesh (Pune FC), Mandar Rao Dessai, Francis Fernandes, Germanpreet Singh (all Dempo SC), Harmanjot Singh Khabra (East Bengal), Rowlin Borges, Bikash Jairu (both Sporting Clube de Goa).

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh (Both Bengaluru FC), Holicharan Narzary (Dempo SC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Mohun Bagan), Thongkhosien Haokip (Pune FC), Sumit Passi (Sporting Clube de Goa), Lalchhawnkima (Royal Wahingdoh FC).

Spread the love